The power of Images

Recently, there have been large scale riots in Greece.  The shooting of a 15 year old boy by policemen was apparently the fuse that set off the pent up anger of the Greek people against their government.  I first heard about it from this article:

http://www.boston.com/bigpicture/2008/12/2008_greek_riots.html

Although the words that started the article told me the gist of it, it was the images that truly told me of the severity of the riots.  Curious, I stroll down to CNN and this is the article I see:

http://www.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/europe/12/18/greece.protests/index.html

More wordy, but at the same time the weight of the event is lost.  When people say that a picture is worth a thousand words, they really mean it.

((If you want to depress yourself, look at the comments on the first article…Made me lose a little bit more of my faith in humanity.))

Leave a Reply

