Power

More seductive than sex... More addictive than any drug... More precious than gold. And one man can get it for you. For a price.

More seductive than sex... More addictive than any drug... More precious than gold. And one man can get it for you. For a price.

When I began thinking about the term camoflauge culture, the memory of one movie stood out in my mind: Power.  Power is the story of a media consultant named Pete St. John.  It is his job to get politicians elected.  To do so he manipulates information and controls all aspects of the campaign so that his candidate can win.  Through the movie actions cause him to take a hard look at himself until at the end he finds himself disgusted with the way that the truth is manipulated and hidden in order to accomplish his goals.  I tried to look for scenes online but unfortunately I could only find this review from Siskel and Ebert.

The review gave a good summary of the plot.  I liked the movie; it had a lot of good dialogue, and the actors did a very good job.  I also think that it demonstrated one aspect of active camoflauge that people use to influence the public and it did a good job of portraying some of the issues that there are with this kind of manipulation.  Unfortunately while I ahve a copy, I could not find any clips on the internet and so I cannot show you more, but I would recommend this movie.

Has anyone else seen it? What do you think about movies like this that show how our information is manipulated to give power to certain people?

Leave a Reply

