A Forbidden Romance: Twilight vs. Moonlight vs. Buffy

As many of my friends know, I’m very interested in vampires. So, naturally when the movie Twilight was being promoted, many of them asked me if I was going to go watch it. But I was like, Nah. Romance movies aren’t my thing, even if it has vampires in it.

Well, later on, I checked out the book online, to see what the book was all about. After checking it out, I began to think about it more. The more I thought about it, I began to think about the TV shows, Moonlight and Buffy: The Vampire Slayer, and how similar the three were. All three deal with a vampire and a human having a romantic relationship.

So that made me think. Can’t they think of anything new besides a human/vampire or a vampire/vampire relationship? Why not a vampire/werewolf relationship?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Twilight cast

10 Responses to “A Forbidden Romance: Twilight vs. Moonlight vs. Buffy”

  1. alamoluck007 Says:

    Twilight was so crappy. I had to see it at midnight and i have to say the girl who played Bella was bad bad BAD. I dint read the book or nothin but it was crap. as for your idea of warewolf and vampire that kind of already exists. The underwolrd movie was a vampire and a halfwolf/ vampire thing…. i think?

  2. astrangerwithcandy Says:

    I’m telling you, Let The Right One In is one of the best movies I’ve ever seen that dealt with vampires. If you can’t see the movie, buy the book. It’s manages to surpass even the movie at times. I can’t recommend them enough. Even if you don’t like vampire stories give this one a shot.

  3. tigerlilly22 Says:

    for one twilight was the dumbest movie i ever saw and also i think most vampire movies are romance stories example dracula had his misstress but being a vampire he couldnt resist her blood so eventually took her life another romance vampire movie is underworld and that is a vampire/ werewolfe movie so some one has touched base with that.

  4. soweird666 Says:

    You guys are kinda missing the point of what I wrote. I knew about the vampire/werewolf relationship in Underworld. I meant that they should start exploring more in terms of what other kind of relationships a vampire could enter into. The vampire/werewolf thing was just an example. And btw, not all vampire books/movies are romance stories. A major example would The Vampire Chronicles (the book series in which Interview With The Vampire, the movie, was based on). While it’s true that in all of the books, the vampires have romantic ties to each other, that doesn’t mean that they’re actually in a romantic relationship.

  5. soweird666 Says:

    Another thing: who said that each vampire relationship had to be heterosexual?

  6. meitanteibilly Says:

    Twilight was such emo crap, I couldn’t stand to finish reading it.

    As for why they don’t have more alternate relationships. I don’t think that many authors don’t believe that the readers would be able to identify with the characters in the relationship. The allure of most supernatural being in my opinion is the fact that they are other than human. If you make them too human you lose interest.

  7. I totally heard that the concepts were all the same. I personally never seen any Buffy the Vampire Slayer episodes nor Moonlight but did enjoy Twilight.

    You know where the lack of creativity comes from?? Original is definitely a job that needs to be filled. How many book/movies have we seen in the last 30 years. Horrible. We need more Dumb and Dumber -like films. (Haha, I know I was just pushing it)

  8. soweird666 Says:

    – meitanteibilly

    You bring up a good point about authors not believing that the readers will be able to identify with the characters, and making the supernatural being too human will make the reader lose interest. However, you could say that having the supernatural being a bit more human, it adds to the allure.

    Case in point would the main character from Moonlight. While he drinks human blood, he doesn’t actually go out and drinks right from the source. It’s the same with some of the vampires in the Twilight series, from what I understand. Not all of them drinks human blood. Again, it’s the same with Louis from The Vampire Chronicles. In the beginning, he refused to drink human blood. Instead, he drank animal blood. He then switched back over to drinking human blood. However, he only drank it whenever he absolutely needed it because he refused to take a human life. All three cases make the vampires seem more human in the sense that they refuse to take human life.

    I think that’s what makes those vampires more alluring than the other ones. Because if you think about, most people, who are not criminals, will refuse to take a human life.

  9. meitanteibilly Says:

    I forgot about that. I think I have to restate it to that they have to be humanlike without being too much of a human. At least in more modern fiction. Actually, that’s probably why vampires were able to become “humanized” compared to most old school monsters: They were the most human-like and were the charismatic creatures of the night. Which makes people really like them. The next most human monster is the werewolf which is actually coming out as a more commonly used monster. Vampires are like the suave, handsome, distant guy who can sweep you off your feet while the werewolf is the more hardy, primal, intimate guy who keeps you on your toes. This is how I would compare them anyway.

  10. meitanteibilly Says:

    As an add on, I can see now what you meant about how it’s the struggle between the humanity and the inherent nature of the vampires that makes this such an interesting story and allows for conflict in the story and the development of the characters

Leave a Reply

