MADD (in the head)

madd-gladd-th-w

You know it’s bad when the organizer of your group say “whoa I think we are getting a little out of hand.” But hey don’t take my word for it, Listen to what MADD (mothers against drunk driving) organizer Candice Lightner had to say about her “Frankenstein”,

“(MADD) has become far more neo-prohibitionistthan I had ever wanted or envisioned … I didn’t start MADD to deal with alcohol. I started MADD to deal with the issue of drunk driving.

Alcoholics Anonymus has it right when it says that they are there to help people who WANT help. MADD is looking to not only eliminate drinking, but freedoms all together. They have called for a ban to Grand Theft Auto (breach of freedom of speech). They have called for more road blocks in order to pull people over without just cause(invasion of our rights). The advocate all new cars are equipped with breathalyzers (an invasion of our civil liberties).

Are we going to let a group of mothers who have no doubt lost a great deal tell us how to live our lives? We can not live in fear, and go on crusades everytime we are hurt by others. We must find people to hold onto and embrace. We must find support from within, not go on rampages like these people do. Drunk driving is a issue yes, but let us deal with it without punishing everyone.

“I didn’t start MADD to deal with alcohol. I started MADD to deal with the issue of drunk driving.”

-Candice Lightner

3 Responses to “MADD (in the head)”

  1. Get lit and drive drunk funny. I like the idea that you like to preserve your civil liberties. I believe that some of the MADD champagnes have gone a tad bit to far, but some people really cant control themselves. The breathalyzers in cars seems a little to far. My solution to this whole problem would be to lower the drinking age to 18. So kids learn to drink in moderation. of course the first generation of kids would go crazy but it would soon die down. And the second thing I would do is up the legal limit for Blood alcohol content to up because come on one beer an hour for a normal sized individual, I don”t feel like you are that impaired.

  2. -blak7857
    Sorry but I think I’m going to have to disagree with you on your statement. I think the only way your idea would work is if we raise the legal driving age to 21. Too many kids are getting their licenses at 18, the last thing we need is to have them be allowed to drink at the same time. Not only that, but could you imagine all the deaths during high school graduation? I know that a lot of other countries have a much lower drinking age, but countries like Japan have better laws. If you are caught driving drunk in japan, you get a fined, and everyone else in the car gets fine too. This way they put the pressure on everyone else, not just the driver.

    But to the blog about MADD… I think your right, they are going out of control. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think that a lot of these campaigns go this way.. kind of like Peta which is a great idea, just taken to the extreme.

  3. That’s a pretty big statement coming out of one of the MADD organizers to say. I would have to say that the only way MADD see’s themselves solving anything is by being very explicit and forceful in whatever manner they can. I see them just as spoiled as those who driving drunk on the roads. Basically they’re trying to use all of their power to generate some type of change. Their forcefulness appears to be even too much. Even their organizer thinks so.

    I think MADD breaks the line in some cases but I can’t imagine my son or daughter dying from someone who is drunk. I have actually been through DUI checkpoints and feel that responsibility should be taken.

    There is a concern about what is truly MADD’s purpose. What are they really trying to do with their institution?

Leave a Reply

