Who Said It Was All About Sex?


“The Associated Press
Saturday, November 29, 2008; 5:04 PM

CHICAGO — Won’t kiss on the first date? How about waiting until marriage?

Chicagoans Melody LaLuz and Claudaniel Fabien shared their first kiss Saturday at the altar. The two teach abstinence at the city’s public schools and practiced what they preached to their teenage students.

The Chicago Tribune reports that the couple had never kissed and that they had never been alone together in a house.

A friend of LaLuz says wedding guests cheered and stomped during the two-minute smooch between the 28-year-old bride and the 30-year-old groom.

LaLuz and Fabien say they have no worries about how they will spend their honeymoon in the Bahamas.”

In this hyper-sexed culture, this is a feat of epic proportions. They deserve medals.

23 Responses to “Who Said It Was All About Sex?”

  1. bigdickdaddy Says:

    For there sake, i hope the sex is good.

  2. They both have some amazing will power. A rarity out of this fast-paced culture of ours. That’s why their behavior is exploited in an article, because that kind of stuff never happens. Sad. Well, the no kissing thing is a little extreme though I suppose.

  3. A.K.A. Jonas Says:

    I’m going through a similar situation myself. My girlfriend and I are both Christian and believe in preserving chastity before marriage. This is much easier said than done. What makes it more difficult is that we are both relatively new to being Christian and made no effort to guard our chastity during our teens and early twenties. So we know what we’re missing and it’s brutal. St. Augustine said, “God give me chastity, but not yet”. We keep setting up rules and boundaries like “no kissing” and “no being alone together in our apartments” but we have failed several times. What keeps me committed to reestablishing those boundaries and perservering through chastity is the fact that I have never had a relationship like this before. Not fooling around frees up an unbelievable amount of time to talk to each other and spend time seeing how the other interacts with their friends, family and community. We challenge each other intellectually and spiritually. It’s the most fulfilling and the most frustrating relationship I have ever had. So I’m working on my self control and discipline. I’ll tell you one thing though, if God expects me to stop masturbating there are going to be problems.

  4. astrangerwithcandy Says:

    That’s amazing Jonas. I’m sure it will be worth it in the long run.

  5. Wow, good for them. It’s a little extreme to say that you can’t kiss someone until you’re married, but who am I to criticize someone’s religious beliefs? This isn’t breaking news, but their ideologies don’t match the world we live in today. I wish them the best, but like bigdickdaddy says, “I hope the sex is good.” Marriage ultimately comes down to two flesh and bone people, not invisible ideologies.

  6. thekingofeurope Says:

    jonas – my friend used to read the bible when he got the urge to masterbate. now he can recite it cover to cover.

  7. Wow! lets give them a cookie….

  8. I admire your dedication. But that’s all I can say.

  9. hawaii808 Says:

    Brotha Jonas stay strong man becuase it will all pay

  10. hawaii808 Says:

    But this is good news to hear about, I know i am no saint and I made mistakes but being a being a Christian the way i think of sex is like a fire, when fire is in a fire place or controlled environment it is beautiful and provides warmth this could be seen as sex during marriage but when that fire is out of control it can destroy the lives we cherish so much and sex before marriage could do this. But don’t let me get deep this is good news that can give others hope and something to strive for.

  11. I can understand not having sew until marriage, but not kissing??? these two people are ridiculous. Who does that? i think they are unrealistic and stupid for doing this.
    The only other time i heard about this was when i was watching a tv show on TLC. I don’t remember the title of the show but they had about 17 kids and the oldest son of the family was going to get married to his fiance. He too was only going to kiss his new wife for the first time on their wedding day.
    Both stories are crazy to me.

  12. Maybe it was a publicity stunt. Nah. Way to ruin purity.

  13. astrangerwithcandy Says:

    -trisha

    What an idiotic thing to say. Just because you don’t understand it doesn’t make it stupid. They sacrificed a hell of a lot in hopes of setting a good example for their students. Whether or not it they made impact remains to be seen, but you can’t denigrate them for trying.

  14. alamoluck007 Says:

    If they wanted to set an example for thier students, why didn’t they feed the homeless or something. Do something that would help others rather than glorify your ability to stay away from the EVIL SEX!!!! oh no kids look at those lions having sex out of wedlock!!!! bad examples! Ill show you kids a good example, Ill be in love with this girl, and not kiss her or be alone in a room with her untill I marry. That way when you go home you can fear the oppostie sex for the rest of your lives! Trust me, they wasted thier time. First they are gonna have horrible sex in the bahamas cause neither know what they are doing, Then when they are 80 and cant have sex, are gonna look back and say “Damn! we could have been haveing tons of sex when all our parts worked!”

  15. alamoluck007 Says:

    PS. Cutting off your arm is hard too… DOESNT MAKE IT A GOOD F*^&IN IDEA!

  16. astrangerwithcandy Says:

    Yeah, cause cutting your arm off is a great deterrent for people who are thinking about cutting their arms off.

  17. thekingofeurope Says:

    stopped me from cutting my arm off.

  18. A.K.A. Jonas Says:

    Personally, I don’t think sex is evil at all. I just believe that it is very powerful. Tantric yoga is a religious practice that revolves entirely around sex. People who practice it swear that it is the most amazing sex they have every had. The reason for that is that 99% of Tantric practice involves the refraining from sexual gratification and release. Self denial doesn’t have to rely on the belief that sexuality is bad, only that it is sacred and can only be fully expressed and enjoyed through the development of self-discipline and complete intimacy with your partner. The development of discipline through abstinance can bring a couple together in amazing ways and commitment through marriage is the best way I can think of to develop a true intimacy. I’m no virgin so I think I can speak pretty clearly from my experience. Good sex does not come from shared fetishes and refined technique for physical stimulation. Good sex comed from passion and intimacy. Anything else feels just like masturbating with someone else’s body. I don’t think casual sex is some kind of hideous, unforgivable sin. I just think that commited, intimate sex is fuckin’ awsome (pun intended). I don’t regret the sex I’ve had in the past (mainly because I got away with it without disease or unplanned pregnancy). Every sin I’ve fallen into has given me the chance to learn more about the nature of God. That’s the whole point of Christianity. Sin sucks, but God loves us so much that He just keeps offering salvation from it no matter what we do.

  19. alamoluck007 Says:

    kingoferoupe ur the man… by the way seeing other people not have sex isnt a deterent to people either, u basically made my point. If someone came to ur work place and said, “Im not gonna drink coke to show u fuckers drinkin coke is bad and unnecassary for you!” you would look at him and probably tell him somethin like this,
    “build a boat, pdlle out 20 somethin miles off the coast. Attach a chain to an anvil, and lock the other end othe chain to ur leg. Swallow the key to the lock and JUMP OFF THE BOAT YOU CONCEEDED PRICK!”

    -thank you…

  20. astrangerwithcandy Says:

    I don’t know what you just said but you’re welcome.

  21. alamoluck007 Says:

    actually cutting your arm off would be a good deterant… think about it… would you still want to do it when you see all tht blood just spewing out of your arms? just an idea…

  22. astrangerwithcandy Says:

    That’s a good question. Let’s meet up and you can test your hypothesis. I’ll be the guy considering chopping my arm off, you be the other dude.

  23. alamoluck007 Says:

    dman… caught in a between a rock and a hard place…. I i cut my arm off u probably wont do it and i would prove my point and win the argument, on the other hand I love BOTH my arms and would loose this argument by not doing it….. DAMN… ok how about this how about I let you cut ur arm off and you can blame me cause i never cut my own arm off for you…

Leave a Reply

