Japanese Schoolgirl Practices At Arcade, Almost Kills Man With Car

Over the weekend in Osaka’s Higashiyodogawa Ward, a 58 year-old man was knocked off his bicycle by a car and dragged 180 meters (almost 600 feet) in a hit-and-run accident. The victim suffered serious injuries, and the driver was arrested by the police. The suspect is a 14 year-old junior high school girl from Osaka’s Toyonaka City.

There were three male middle school students in the car, and it was originally thought the girl was a scapegoat — until she gave an official statement. She told Yodogawa Police Station authorities in an affidavit, “I was confident in my video game driving, so I wanted to try the real deal… That day was the first time I had ever driven a real car.” Apparently, the girl had been “practicing” driving on arcade games. She decided that she had gotten so good at video games, she ought to try an actual car and thus swiped the keys to her father’s small mini-van.

According to authorities, the girl had a history of missing class at school.

5 Responses to “Japanese Schoolgirl Practices At Arcade, Almost Kills Man With Car”

  1. it’s one thing for someone who has mastered guitarhero to think they can actually play a real guitar. no harm done. just some meaningless noise. but someone who thinks they can drive a car because they can in a video game…that’s disturbing. thank goodness the man didn’t die.

    are we hindering/dumbing down/teaching our future generation that there is no line between reality and virtual reality?

  2. Looking at this post, I had to cringe. As a person who is actually learning to drive right now, I know that driving is definitely no game — I almost hit 5 cars, a bicyclist, and drove in the gutter my first lesson —and that was with a professional teacher T_T.

  3. astrangerwithcandy Says:

    This reminds me of the time when I tried steal a car and and run over old ladies after playing Grand Theft Auto. Hotwireing a car is a lot harder than it looks!

  4. ninebreaker Says:

    Man if I drove my car like I do in battle gear 4(la initial D with a twist in game mechanic) I would be most likely A) Wreck my transmission due to the clutch kicking and often miss shifts B) Try to drift and fail C) Be on channel 3 news as one of the greatest police chases(Worst Driver)

  5. I was watching KITV news and heard a story about insurance companies that test their older customers driving abilities using a video game. So clearly there is some cross over. It could be hand/ eye co-ordination or reaction time skills but it is not totally off…

Leave a Reply

